Harvest Moon

I don’t usually share too much of my poetry, but I feel it’s time for this one. I wrote this shortly after learning my Mother would soon not be with us. It’s never an easy thought, one I’m still battling 4 months later. Her time is drawing to a close. I’m ever so thankful to have had these last few months. In ways it would be easier if she had simply slipped away into the night, BUT I am very thankful to have had the time to tell her all that she has meant, the values I learned and remember the good times we had. To have the opportunity to ask the hard questions and do my best to make her comfortable. This is Harvest Moon. Though she’ll pass under a winter sky, Autumn I think is a favorite time of year for my whole family. Halloween, crunchy leaves, a lot of anniversaries and birthdays, it will remain magical for me, as sad as some memories will be.

Harvest Moon

The sun shines bright in the October sky, it erases all the questions in my mind, and brings peace to the thoughts that make me want to cry. How many months until she will die? I don’t know that I could ever know a reason why.

The light, it shimmers on the green and gold, pushing away the brusque fall cold, the breeze is light and gently caresses, the sun hangs low in the clouds, and the autumn season grows bold and begins to unfold.

Fall colors, vibrant and bright mark the ground, they bring a blast of color to the sight. Lighting up nature all around. Red, Gold, Green and Yellow, this autumn makes me feel so mellow.

But churning deep inside are thoughts that swallow me whole and make me feel so cold. Dreary and dour, my world has gone sour and not a soul can fix this, there is no one with the power.

Thunder storms interrupt the night, they wash away the clear days delight, and brings such a sense of urgency to the moonlight. Terrors and fears bubble up inside and I look for a place to hide. My mind takes me back and I try to relax, memories from the past to keep me safe from the tragedy lurking in this storm.

Remembering better days, at the beach, in the trees, out for a run. My body is distant and seems disconnected, but I think it’s just the way I reacted.

The warmth of thought sinks into my skin, and last all throughout the night, preparing me at last, for the war that will ravage my mind in the night. A battle will shortly take place, for in my mind there is much causing distaste.

The moon shines on through the clouds, illuminating the sparkling dew drops on the grass. It seems that all else has become crass, while the trees outside the window rub upon the glass. Wind is screeching through the night, I wonder if ever again I will find something to delight. Tears they form faster than I can prevent, a dire outlook, I cannot deny, is present.

The emotions burst from my inner being, doing their best to be free. Why is God taking something so precious from me?! I try to justify and consider the past, but really, I don’t think that an answer will ever come to pass. Eerie sounds abound in the night, but finally, for once, at the peak of the storm, everything is alright.

The great owl hoots in the dark and his voice carries on the breeze, as the mighty wolf cries from somewhere in the trees. Life’s circle will be complete, and the world will still revolve around the sun, with the moon and the stars high above. An angel, ready for flight, prepares, for the time is coming near, to retrieve a new soul and guide them home forever in the light.

This autumn atmosphere is a magical force, you see, and all the beasts and ghouls, faeries and nymphs, and angels too, well, they are a friend to me.

Soon the leaves will fall, scattering the ground, and the wild ones will all heed my call and come round, because most important of all, is the beautiful glory of the Fall and the journey of learning to stand tall.

Leave a comment